Nyx says decide to rise!

“Phoenix rising from the ashes.” This is one phrase I still remember from one of the famous plays of Shakespeare. As the story goes, the phoenix is a mythical bird with fiery plumage that lives up to 100 years. Near the end of its life, it settles in to its nest of twigs which then burns ferociously, reducing bird and nest to ashes. And from those ashes, a fledgling phoenix rises – renewed and reborn.

image

Sometimes life wants you to burn into ashes and then start afresh. I have always believed life offers you its magic only when you surrender to accept it with your open arms.Every chapter of your life will end and new person will emerge from it. Now, when I look back I don’t regret any of my decisions because I have emerged from it strongly.

Everyone of us goes through a period of depression in life. Some of us are strong enough to accept it and some of us neglect it. I have gone through this pain and believe me it kills you thousand times. It feels as if everyone around you is selfish. No one is there to understand your agony. Chocolates and ice creams become your best friend. Tears roll down your cheeks for no reason.  I was suffering from postpartum depression.

Depression does not mean that you are mentally ill. It doesn’t mean that you have lost the plot completely and you are hopeless. It means that some chemicals in your body or if I may say some hormones in your body starts to act weirdly. Or there is a communication gap in the brain circuit.

Today, I wish to share things that helped me get out of it and emerge as a Phoenix.

  1. Talk! : Yes, I was lucky enough to figure out that something is wrong with me. I discussed it with my best friend, Mohit. He surprisingly understood that there is a problem and we have to find out what it is! He was ready to listen whatever I wanted to say. And I opened up with all the things that were bothering me. When you share your feelings, you share a part of you and it takes out every pain from your body. So talk to your best friend or someone who is not judgemental.
  2. Exercise: I hate going to gym. I used to feel treadmills were boring. But believe me gym and exercise did wonders. Not only I lost weight and looked good but I also multiplied happy hormones in my body. Spend at least 45 mins in the gym or just go on a long walk and do some stretching exercises.
  3. Get a makeover: It might sound a little stupid but I have always believed your hairstyles can change your life. Just think of it every new hairstyle or a new look has a new story. I got a makeover and it helped me. It changed me!
  4. Eat healthy: I am a breastfeeding mother and for me eating healthy is a priority which I had forgotten. Again, Mohit helped me in forcing me to eat healthy and forget chocolates and ice creams. I also started taking some vitamin supplements to balance out. And I feel for healthy mind you should have a healthy diet
  5. Working brain is a healthy brain: Lastly, do anything that makes you happy. I love to cook, read and watch movies. I did everything to get myself involved in some activity so that the feeling of hopelessness or anger doesn’t even think of entering my mind.

All these things were possible only because I wanted to get well and enjoy my life. I was ready to accept that there was something wrong and I have to reconcile it. Consult your doctor and get the medicines.

Life has only one objective and it is to enjoy every single day!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

